Alone (2016)

Duration 6'
Instrumentation mezzo-soprano, flute, piano, viola
Premiered June 2016, Beall Hall: Eugene, OR - Oregon Bach Composers Symposium - American Creators Ensemble
Other Performances Include:
June 2016, New Music Room: Eugene, OR - Oregon Bach Composers Symposium - Sarah Brauer (mezzo),  Alexis Evers (fl),
Margaret Sutherland (pno), Olivia Davis (vla), Caleb Wenzel (conductor)
 ---November 2016, Hatch Hall: Rochester, NY - Composers Concert - Caroline Nielson (mezzo),  Zach Osinski (fl),
Zoe Wang (pno), Josh Wareham (vla), Edo Frenkel (conductor)

Text Edgar Allan Poe

From childhood's hour I have not been
As others were; I have not seen
As others saw; I could not bring
My passions from a common spring.
From the same source I have not taken
My sorrow; I could not awaken
My heart to joy at the same tone;
And all I loved, I loved alone.
Then- in my childhood, in the dawn
Of a most stormy life- was drawn
From every depth of good and ill
The mystery which binds me still:
From the torrent, or the fountain,
From the red cliff of the mountain,
From the sun that round me rolled
In its autumn tint of gold,
From the lightning in the sky
As it passed me flying by,
From the thunder and the storm,
And the cloud that took the form
(When the rest of Heaven was blue)
Of a demon in my view.